99 Lesley Woods and Paul Foad (Au Pairs)

29 Jun

The frequently cited Au Pairs comparison is to Gang Of Four (Gang Of Four guitarist Andy Gill is No. 12 on SPIN’s list). And I think it’s fair to say that if you liked Gang Of Four, you’d probably also like the Au Pairs. And there’s a similarity in the effects chains of Andy Gill and one of the Au Pairs. I think Andy’s sound was achieved through a combination of deep reverb, tremolo (on some songs), treble boost (with a wah pedal, maybe) and heavy flange. Paul Foad (I think, judging by some live footage) had a similar set up, but used what sounds to me like a totally cranked chorus pedal (an effect that I usually think sounds terrible) instead of the flange. And Lesley (I think, again referring to videos) resorted to a slightly overdriven, but otherwise un-effected Tele. People also often think that the Au Pairs share Gang Of Four’s Parliament-Funkadelic inspired funk, but I think the Au Pairs actually might have been in to the World Music scene. Sounds potentially awful, I know, but they pulled it off without any schmaltz. I was listening to a lot of Au Pairs lately to pick an example to post (from a large quantity of really great songs) and while not overtly displaying the unique Au Pairs guitar elements, I reaffirmed that this song completely kicks ass.

 

Notable guitars: Paul played a Strat and Lesley played a Tele

 

Example: “We’re So Cool”

Leave a comment